Dear Clayton

Dear Clayton – you sexy unicorn you,

I know that your life isn’t where you want it to be, but you are young. There’s still time. I’ve been there and life gets better.

We’ve laughed and scoffed at the online dating, but in the end we don’t need a man to be happy. A man won’t solve your problems. I’m not saying not to look for love, but look for real people.

I will go out with you to bars, clubs, the game store, or anywhere you want to go and we’ll meet new people together. Real people. The best way to fall in love is to make a friend out in the real world. Someone you can have fun with, who enjoys what you enjoy. Someone real who you can naturally fall in love with. You will find love, just be patient.

You are young and there’s time. While you see a long road of loneliness, I see a world of opportunity in which you can do anything you want with your life. Just because things didn’t work out in Portland, it doesn’t mean you can’t try again. You are beautiful, smart, kind, and funny. You are everything a decent person looks for in someone. You are not without love, friends, or family. You are NOT alone.

Surround yourself with things and people who make you happy and happiness will come. If you simply cannot see happiness in your future, then please get professional help. There is no shame in getting help. I’ll go with you and hold your hand. I’ll be there for you any day or time. You were there for me when I was deep in depression and needed help. Now that I’m in a happy place, I’ll do whatever it takes to help you get here too. Not simply out of obligation, but because I want you here. If you feel you have nothing to lose, then do it for me. Do it for your family, your friends, your loved ones. Give us a chance to help you find what you are looking for.

The world needs people like you in it!

This is what I wish I could have said to you, if only I had known.

Love your friend always,
<Redacted> – this sexy ginger me

Leave a Reply

