The Recumbent Bike

About three weeks ago, I started riding my recumbent bike every day. I started with 15 minutes a day. It was hard. The next week, I pushed myself to 30 minutes a day. In just two short weeks I saw some awesome progress. I went to a Renfaire and walked around for 2 hours with only a 15 minute break in between. I felt get. Just a year ago I wasn’t able to get 30 minutes before I was too tired and hurting. This week, I’m on 40 minutes a day.

I’ve discovered an odd string of events when I’m working out on my bike. I start off strong because I know I’m doing well and I’m proud of myself, Then between 15-20 minutes I start to feel like I want to stop. I don’t, because I know I can do it. Then surprisingly around 25 minutes in I feel like I could keep going forever. I feel fine. I’m in the grove. I get to 40 minutes and I think to myself that this is easy and I could just keep going… but I don’t.

I stop because I don’t want to go too far. My goals are realistic and I’m going to stick to it! This week it’s 40 minutes. Next week it’s 45 and so on. In the next 5 weeks I’ll be riding 1 hour a day. After that, I’m going to stick to one hour but increase the speed at which I’m peddling.

I have plans to eventually do other things too. My best friend and I are looking to getting a gym together that we can go to after work to do other kinds of exercises. I’m really happy with my progress and I’m not letting anyone tell me how to exercise or lose weight. I’m doing what works for me and I’m doing it in a way that I know I can keep up with. I have a routine. I’m fantastic at routines! I’ve got this!

One thought on “The Recumbent Bike

  1. Pingback: Gold’s Gym: How We Started (with videos) | Corasteel

Leave a Reply

