Review: The Force Awakens

spoiler-warning

No really, this post will be filled with unimaginable spoilers beyond your deepest fears. Turn back now, while you still can. I loved the movie, but you really shouldn’t read spoilers. This really is your last warning. Okay, I’m going to start spewing details… don’t look any further than this adorable picture…

dxop6kikpfpcqqjxgagi

During the very beginning of the movie, reading the intro and hearing that familiar music, I felt that childhood feeling. I had flashbacks of playing with ewok plushies and watching the movies. I cried during sad scenes, but I also cried for joy when nostalgia got me in the feels. I loved it and I can’t wait for the movies to come!

kylo-ren-headerOriginally, when I saw the pictures and trailers, I wasn’t a fan of Kylo Ren and I thought the mask was gaudy. In fact, I was never a fan of Darth Maul nor Darth Sidious. I haven’t like any of the Star Wars villains since Darth Vader. Kylo Ren, on the other hand, I really liked him a lot. I have to give Adam Driver a huge thumbs up. Kylo was powerful and his scenes were great! The villain had depth and something to really draw you in. You can feel the anger in the character and it felt reminiscent of Anakin Skywalker… which makes sense when you find out he’s Han and Leia’s son. I actually felt a little guilty liking him so much, and even more guilty when he kills Han. Yep, right in the feels! I felt disappointed in Ben (yep, Ben Solo is Kylo Ren’s real name). I felt heart broken when Kylo Ren says he feels like he’s being torn apart (which is what Anakin once said to Padme).

star-wars-7-kylo-ren-unmasked-pic

It was interesting to see the struggle on the opposite side. Luke was on the light side struggling with the temptation of the dark side. Now, his newphew is on the dark side struggling with the temptation of the light. You can see his instability manifested in his lightsaber, which looks torn up. There’s moments with Ben (Kylo) and Han were you feel the struggle and you can see there’s hope. Who knows… maybe he’ll come back to the light in a future movie? I’ve loved him right down to his voice and gait. Great pick for the role!

star-wars-7-trailer-breakup

Yeah, so everyone cheered when Han Solo and Chewbacca showed up. I was so excited! Han was still snarky, but he felt less crotchety than he was in the original and more fun hearted. Chewy felt like he was given more character too. I think I cried more when Chewy reacted to Han’s death than the actual death scene. Man, I am going to miss this duo so much!

poe-dameron-force-awakens

Poe Dameron (played by Oscar Isaac) was great. I loved the battle scenes and he was truly a badass pilot! Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always fantasized about being in a jet or an X-Wing! When I told my mom that I wanted to be a pilot when I grew up, she thought I mean an airline commercial pilot. I said “No mom. Those are too slow and boring. I want to fly the fast planes!” She told me I should join the navy, but that didn’t happen lol Poe was charming and I’m really hoping to see a lot more of him in the next movie!

FinnHS-Fathead

Ahhh Finn and Rey. This is the next great romance of Star Wars. There is something about him. It seems like he is drawn to Rey. I like Finn, but I connected with his character the least. My husband says he was largely useless in the movie except for one major contribution. I see his point, but I think there’s more to this character and we won’t find out until the other movies. I suspect that he’s Lando’s son, but I could be wrong. Not every new character has to be related to an old character. My husband says that J.J. Abrams stated that Finn is not Lando’s son, but I don’t trust people not to lie to the fans! They lied about Benedict Cumberbatch being Khan in Star Trek: Into Darkness – and who directed that movie? Finn’s background is intriguing and hopefully they’ll expand his role into something more useful.

star-wars-the-force-awakens

He did try to save Rey several times, but she was fiercely independent – stop grabbing my hand! She was actually pretty badass and it’s quite obvious that she’s the next Jedi… especially if she’s Luke’s daughter. The force is strong in her, strong enough for her to defeat Kylo Ren (all be it, she did so with anger). Now they could throw us a curve ball and she’s not his daughter.

princess-leia-and-han-star-warsI love that Rey is a strong female role! Let’s face it, Leia was a Princess in need of rescuing who was motivated by love. As much as we all love Leia, she was not a strong female role. Moving her into a General of the Rebellion definitely makes her a stronger role model. I’d really like to see more of her as a General in the future movies. Leia has the force too… wouldn’t it be cool to see her wielding a lightsaber?

Older-Luke-Skywalker-Star-Wars-Force-AwakensAnyways, back on target… when Rey finds Luke at the end of the movie, for a moment Luke looks angry, but then he softens up after seeing his lightsaber. Due to past scenes where she’s remembering events, they suggest heavily at them being related. Twins do run in the family, so maybe she’s Leia’s daughter? But then why wouldn’t Han or Leia say something? Maybe she’s a grand daughter? But I don’t think the ages are right for that.  Really, I still think she’s Luke’s daughter. Speaking of that end scene. While this is the only scene Luke is in, they seriously hammed it up. It was a tad bit of an overly dramatic moment, but that’s okay. I think Luke looks really cool and I’m happy to see Mark Hamill on the big screen reprising this role again.

ep7_ia_38369_0bbb2aae

What I was disappointed with, was Gwendoline Christi’s role. She’s a good actress and could have been another strong female role, but Cpt. Phasma fell flat. Sure, it’s a really cool costume, but I was expecting more. Hopefully her talents won’t be wasted and the character will have it’s moment in the next movie.

star-wars-7-force-awakens-r2d2-bb8-600x600

What I loved the most was the droids! I absolutely LOVED BB8! He had a huge amount of personality. He was cute, funny, and sassy! BB8 has that Star Wars feel while being fresh and new. I cracked up when he was shocking Finn. I thought my heart was going to explode from cute overload!!!!!

When we first saw R2D2, I was all teary eyed that he wasn’t working. I was feeling pretty disappointed, but don’t worry, he comes to life later! I am hoping to see R2 and BB interacting with each other in the future. If done right, this could be epid droid awesome sauce!

While I was gitty to see C3PO and I’m curious about his red arm, he wasn’t anything more than a cameo. It’ll be nice to see him in the movies too, but I think BB8 and R2D2 are the showrunners for the droids. I seriously want both droids in my home! I need to find out how to make life sized functional droids of my own! Thank you to the masterminds who created these wonderful droids!

Again, I loved the movie and I can’t wait for more! Thank you to the original stars for coming back and thank you Disney and J.J. Abrams for bringing back our childhoods and doing it well!

 

Leave a Reply

