Flu Shot Round 2

This flu shot is testing my bravery. I did not get the flu shot the day that we had planned. Every time we’ve been able to go to the pharmacy, they have been out! It’s so frustrating. I’ve been exhibiting bravery every time I’ve brought up getting the flu shot and every time, fate has countered me. I don’t think you understand just how difficult it is for me to ASK for this and then to willingly walk up the counter to get a shot. It’s remarkable that I have been able to keep this up for the past TWO WEEKS! Man, I’m really trying to keep this up, but I’m feeling discouraged.

So, I decided to call the CVS pharmacy and ask them a stupid question. I lead with, “I have never had a flu shot in my life and I have anxiety issues. Every time I’ve been brave enough to try to get the flu shot this year, you’ve been out. Is there an option that I’m not aware of that would help me get this done?”

I swear that I could hear a smile in her voice “Yes! I completely understand. We can schedule you an appointment and we will reserve a shot for you.” Thank goodness, because I don’t know how much longer I can keep this up! She ran mine and my husbands insurance and the flu shot is fully covered by both. We have an appointment this Friday. We’ll have to fill out a questionnaire about our health and because it’s my first time, we’ll have to wait around for a little bit to make sure I don’t have an allergic reaction, She also told me it’s a good idea to stick around for a little bit anyways, because folks who have anxiety will leave feeling okay but faint after walking outside. We had a short laugh… she was charming.

I think I have one more spoon left in me (Spoon Theory, I’ll write about it sometime).

Leave a Reply

