Tamashii Ramen House (All The Noms)

20151016_181412

Once upon a time, my husband (fiance at the time) and I were dirt poor. Cheap ramen packets at the store was something cheap and filling to live off of… but I hated it. I hated it so much that I refused to ever go to a Ramen House to eat. Eventually, we discovered that there was more to ramen than what we experienced in poverty. My husband learned how to do something more traditional with those ramen packets, adding stuff to it, and then harassed me into trying it. His creativity in the kitchen is one of many reasons why I love my husband. It was good and I actually liked it. This opened me up to the idea of trying an actual ramen house!

We’ve tried a few ramen places here and there, including in Las Vegas last month, but Tamashii’s is our favorite thus far. We had a suspicion that it would be good, considering how full the restaurant was and the waiting line. It was well worth the wait.

IMG_20151016_200908229

While in Las Vegas, we tried Takoyaki for the first time and it was okay. It’s an octopus in a fried ball (no it’s not octopus testicles) with some sauce drizzled on top. While it wasn’t bad, it was mushy and not really appealing. However, the Takiyaki ($4.50) at Tamashii’s was amazing! It wasn’t mushy, but it was pleasantly soft and it packed a powerful flavor. The octopus was firm in the way that octopus usually is. My husband thought the flavor was too strong and would prefer the sauce it on the side… but I loved it just the way it was! It’s a great appetizer to share with friends (if you hog them all for yourself, you’ll get full).

20151016_183003 20151016_183137

My husband wanted to try a more tradition ramen called Tonkotsu ($9.50) and he loved it. I thought he was going to melt into his chair. He loved it so much that I wager it’ll be a regular dining spot for us. The Tonkotsu at Tamashii’s is a pork base, dense, and creamy. It was topped with chashu (braised pork), negi (green onions), nitamago (boiled egg), menma (bamboo shoots), and a drizzle of mayu (black garlic oil). He also added some kikurage (a type of mushroom). The braised pork was so flavorful and everything went together well. I stole a bite of his ramen and it was delicious. The bamboo shoots were surprisingly tastey! We wouldn’t have thought bamboo would add so much flavor. The egg was also very flavorful. I’m not sure if it’s a duck egg or if it’s marinated in magic. It seemed like every individual ingredient was just a pleasure to eat.

20151016_183824 20151016_185023

Instead of having ramen, I chose to try the Chashudon ($4.50) which is chashu (braised pork) on steamed rice with Tamashii’s special sauce blend and truffle mayo on top. I know what you’re thinking… eww mayo?! No, trust me, it was SO GOOD. I don’t know what magic they conjured to make this work but it does. The braised pork was tender and flavorful on its own, but that sauce and mayo added on was like a Jedi Mind Trick.

And before you ask, no it’s not chocolate truffles. In this sense, “truffle” is referring to a fungus (like a mushroom). I’ve had truffle mayo on a sandwich before and it’s an earthy flavor. I’ve also had truffle chips, which reminded me of sour cream and onion chips. It’s great for adding a savory flavor.

20151016_183423

I had the opportunity to talk to the owner and she was so nice. The wait staff was friendly, smiling, and working like busy bees to get tables turned. Yet, we never felt rushed at all. The food was fantastic and I even loved the dinner ware. It was all so pretty and the food presentation was lovely. I highly recommend trying Tamashii’s!

20151016_182717
Bonus Points: I loved that they put translations for ingredients on the menu. It’s a thoughtful touch! Thank you!

 

Leave a Reply

