Review: Terminator Genisys

spoiler-warning

Serious spoilers ahead. If you don’t want spoilers, turn back now!!

I loved the original movies, but I wasn’t keen on the last movie (before this one). I ended up loving this new movie a hell of lot more than I thought I would! I highly recommend it. They paid homage to the original movies and I fangirled so much during this movie.

I loved that they brought back Arnold Schwarzenegger and he was STILL as cool as he was back then. Arnold knows how to play on his strengths and weaknesses. There was some humor amidst the despair of Judgement Day. They took the affection for the original terminator and made him into a character that we could connect with in a more intimate way. I can see how some people might not like that change, but I loved it. I’m referring to him being portrayed as a father figure and a helping to save the world. I think they did an excellent job of recreating a CGI version of Arnold’s original terminator character. He has a nice body… whoo!

I won’t lie. I squeed a little bit when I saw Matt Smith. No, I didn’t know he was in the movie. I managed to ignore most of the movie advertising. As soon as I saw him, I knew he’d be an important role. You don’t typically hire well known actors for small roles. Although, it’s funny that he’s in a movie with time travelers. Also, is it me, or is SkyNet basically Ultron?

I like that we get to see the future and parts of the past going way back. I also liked the way they changed up the story while still keeping it familiar. The twist of turning John Connor into the enemy was a brave move and it worked for me. All the changes seemed to make sense… although I had to employ some suspension of disbelief when it came to some of the science. It was exciting enough and not too difficult to look past the impossible psychics. In this day and age and how we use technology, it’s easy to understand the premise. There’s a plausibility of SkyNet happening in this age, than there was in the eighties when the notion was far fetched. It’s nice that they brought SkyNet into a more modern concept.

I already loved the actors. There was many recognizable actors, like J.K. Simmons. It was nice seeing Jai Courtney in a heroic role. His acting was fantastic in Divergent and it was great in Terminator. He’s also nice to look at when trans-versing time.

Speaking of easy on the eyes… Emilia Clarke really hit the spot for Sarah Connor. She was still the bad-ass survivalist with a snarky attitude that I remembered. Her acting was just as good as her role as Daenerys in Game of Thrones. She was a great pick for Sarah! We thought that she looked younger in this movie too.

Jason Clarke impressed me as John Connor. He was rather charismatic up until the point where he turned hardcore terminator. He had that rugged look, necessary for a war hero role and he cleaned up well. Very smooth!

My only complaint is that with all the movies and time traveling, it feels like time and time again they fail, unable to change their fate. At the end of the credits, it’s obvious that SkyNet survived, yet again. Everything is pointless. Why bother to continue this fight? They actually answer this question in the movie “because we’re human.” but at what point do we get our happy ending? When is enough, enough? Fortunately, I have some fight left in me for some more movies. Hopefully they keep getting better.

Leave a Reply

