Confederate Flag Debate

Ironically, the confederate flag debate isn’t black and white. My knowledge of historical events was lacking as well as my interest in it. However, after hearing about this debate and seeing friends battle each other over social media, I found myself in favor of forming an opinion. My first inclination is to be anti-confederate flag because it’s racist. Then TV Land pulled Dukes of Hazard, and I personally disagreed with this action and view it as silly. So then I thought, why not find out why the confederate flag supporters feel the way they do? I sought out to educate myself. My verdict? Well here it goes… Is the Confederate Flag a symbol of racism? Yes.

People have tried to convince me that the Civil War was about more than just slavery, but no one has been able to provide me with a sound explanation of what else it was about. Some said that it was about not losing their economic backbone… but slavery was their economic backbone. Some said it was about the South fighting against a tyrannical or unjust North. How exactly were they unjust? They were unjust for forcing you to abolish slavery? Um, no. The South wanted to seceed from the North, but that was all rooted in the slavery conflicts. Someone sent me some information to read, but it all boiled back down to slavery.

Further more, the creator of the flag, William Tappan Thompson is cited to have said “As a people, we are fighting to maintain the Heaven-ordained supremacy of the white man ver the inferior or colored race; a white flag would thus be emblematical of our cause.… Such a flag…would soon take rank among the proudest ensigns of the nations, and be hailed by the civilized world as THE WHITE MAN’S FLAG.… As a national emblem, it is significant of our higher cause, the cause of a superior race, and a higher civilization contending against ignorance, infidelity, and barbarism. Another merit in the new flag is, that it bears no resemblance to the now infamous banner of the Yankee vandals.” That is very racist. The flag was meant for racism, the war was fought to keep slavery… it’s racist.

Is the confederate flag patriotic? No.

“Patriotic” means having or expressing devotion to and vigorous support for one’s country. The North and South were fighting… they were not united.

Should the Capitol be required to remove the flag? Yes.

The Government and it’s bodies should never fly racist flags. The government is not a person and thus the government as an entity does not get the right of free speech. People get the right to free speech.

Should the flag be removed from monuments? Yes.

You have a monument that celebrates racism? Then yes, take it down! Oh, the monument isn’t about racism? Then why do you want a racist flag on it? I definitely think it should be removed!

Should the flag be allowed for historical or educational purposes? Yes.

One statement that I’ve heard that I agree with is that the confederate flag is part of history and shouldn’t be erased. This is what museums are for. Absolutely we should be properly educated and history should be preserved. If we forget our past, we risk making those mistakes again. Civil War re-enactments are educational and fun, despite it’s lurid details. I’m pro-education.

Should the flag be removed from Amazon? No.

Don’t misunderstand me, I’m glad they removed it. However, Amazon is not a governing body and they have the freedom to sell whatever they like. It’s an aspect of free speech. Now, if only they would stop selling Nazi merchandise, then I’d be extra happy. Now if they were flying the flag our using it as their logo, then I’d have a problem.

Should selling the flag be illegal? No.

Again, this is an aspect of the freedom of speech. I believe in freedom of speech. Individual people have the right to believe what they want. They can be proud of the confederate flag, buy it, wear it, wave it proudly, and put it on their front lawn. I

disagree with it. I don’t like it. I might judge you for it. Heck, I have the right to free speech to contest your views and protest. Just because we don’t agree doesn’t mean the right to free speech should be oppressed for either of us. So, no… selling the flag or flying the flag on private property should not be illegal.

Should the Dukes of Hazard be removed from TV? No.

The Dukes of Hazard is a work of fiction. Are we going to remove all offensive works of fiction too? I highly doubt it. This goes back to that whole freedom of speech thing… plus the fact that it’s fiction (meaning it’s not real). I find it ridiculous to remove it in the first place. This is a classic example of being TOO politically sensitive.

Should the flag be removed from specialty license plates created by the state for the Sons of Confederate Veterans? No.

I think there should be an option to have a specialty license plate without the flag, but not outright removed. This goes back to freedom of speech because if their sons are proud of their heritage and want to commemorate the veterans in their family, they should be able to. Although, I do see that it’s a gray area because it’s created by the state, but in this case, it seems like a private affair to me.

Is it unfair to compare Confederates to Nazis? No.

Yes, Nazi’s were racist and enslaved the Jews. They did unspeakable things. Our ancestors enslaved people, did horrible things to them, and were racist. This notion that Nazi’s were worse that slavery in the US is just an excuse not to feel bad about having pride in something racist. I understand that my opinion on this particular point is harsh, but it’s how I feel. I’m not saying that you can’t be proud of being a Southerner. I’m from Louisiana and I’m proud to be Cajun! Am I proud of the slavery in my history? No. Do I need to fly the confederate flag to show my pride? No! I can fly the Louisiana State Flag. Even better… I can fly the flag of the United States of America!

I am proud to be an American and in the end of this whole debate, I ask, why do you need any other flag? The most important flag to me is the American Flag and that’s the flag we should be honoring this Independence Day!

Leave a Reply

