Review: New 52 Harley Quinn

Okay, don’t get me wrong. I love Harley Quinn and there was a lot of things that I liked. Sure, a part of me wants Harley to stay the way she was, but still, I like her new look (probably because I favor redheads). Some people have criticized that she looks like a whore, but that doesn’t bother me either. I like provocative costumes, contrary to my feminist side. I also found it thoroughly amusing that she joined a roller derby and broke all the rules in a violent spree. She moonlights between being a therapist and a roller girl. Roller derbies are fun and it fits her.

b419d4c0ef99924dc13e5d4192980838

I like that they made her more confident and she’s no longer being treated like a doormat. I think she’s still the bubbly Harley that I’m familiar with. She still has a soft spot for dogs and animals. They certainly made her a touch more crazy. I like that the way they portray her psychopathy and there’s no denying that she’s insane.

Harley_Quinn_Vol_2_2

I started this comic convinced that I would love it. Her adventures were wacky and amusing… but I just couldn’t seem to get into the comic. At first, I wasn’t sure what it was, but it felt like something was missing. I felt too impatient every time I read the comic. I read up to issue 5 before I started casually skipping over some of the pages. By the end of issue 5, I didn’t feel like reading another one. A couple of days later, I read the comics up to the current issue, giving it an honest try. I hate to say it, but even though I liked the wacky adventures and I loved Harley and Ivy, I got bored. Which is crazy!

harley02

I recently got the first issue of Harley Quinn and Power Girl, which looked funny. I read it and I loved it! It was very funny and interesting. I’ll be doing a review on this one later. So what does this tell me about the Harley stand-alone comic? Harley is a side kick… or needs a contrasting side kick to balance out the insanity. I love that Ivy loves Harley for who she is. While I do love the Poison Ivy romance, I miss the dysfunctional Joker-Harley romance and it’s not just about Joker. It’s the dynamic relationship. Pairing her with Ivy was great, but I think they get along too well.

31fdb1525babfac4cf36af7685eb024c GalleryFuturesEnd_1900x900_Harley_B_53960c2c6f0678.30727543I don’t recommend against it. It wasn’t awful. It just didn’t connect with me. So, if you are a Harley Quinn fan, give a shot. Maybe you’ll love it.

 

Leave a Reply

