Review: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl

I was excited to try out The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl. She’s a fun silly character and I really like her. She’s the type of superhero that I like, but I can’t seem to get into this comic. It feels like the stories are too childish, which is odd because I’m very much a child-at-heart kind of gal. I love My Little Ponies and Adventure Time, but Squirrel Girl comics? Not so much. It’s too bland. Don’t get me wrong, I think her personality is fantastic, but the setting and the stories don’t do her justice. I’m actually pretty disappointed.

Yep, she’s Marvel!Unbeatable-Squirrel-Girl_612x380_0

However, if you have young kids at reading age, Squirrel Girl is a great comic for beginners. All the qualities that I enjoy about Doreen (her secret identity) are things I’m sure the kids will like too. She tucks her tail in her pants (I know it sounds dirty) to hide it, which makes her look like she has a big butt! How cute is that?!

2015-06-17 13_45_20-The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl negative review - Google SearchThere’s an adorable animal side kick who seems more mature than Doreen. What kid doesn’t like animal side kicks? I believe that Tippy Toe is more mature than Squirrel Girl. Tippy Toe keeps Doreen grounded and focused. I think Squirrel Girl would be mostly oblivious if it wasn’t for her side kick.

96358-29888-tippy-toe_zps80544822Still, Squirrel Girl is happy, goofy, and very girly. She was singing her own theme song as she was beating up some thugs (something I would totally do). Though she does fight bad guys, there’s no gore or swearing. While Doreen does have a crush, there’s no sexual content. It’s obvious that this comic was geared towards a younger audience. Even though I couldn’t get into it, you should give it a try yourself if you like cute silly comics.

SG3I will say that if they made Squirrel Girl into a cartoon and/or a movie… I’d watch it.

 

Leave a Reply

