Commission: Sarah’s Bat

Sarah asked me to make a bat, but she wanted it to be a heat pack. This meant that the bat couldn’t have polyfil stuffing, plastic safety eyes or buttons, faux fur, minky, felt, or other types of fabrics I generally use for the bats. So, I used white thread for the eyes, rice in place of stuffing, and I used 100% cotton. I was surprised at how soft the solid black cotton fabric was! Normally it’s just a simple feel, but I’m glad I found this fabric!

For a couple of the photos we used a doll stand, which is the white rubber thing around the bats neck. In the other photos we used a jewelers tool (not sure what it’s called) to hold out its wings to get a couple more pics. We put it in the microwave for 90 seconds and it got really hot! I hope Sarah likes her… she’s cute!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

