Poem: The Words Are Empty

This poem is about lies and broken trust.

The words are empty.
They used to hold gold.
Shiny like nothing you’d ever seen.
Just one word made me rich.
But now the words are empty.
They are gritty and dull.
They are nothing but fools gold.
Like a fool, I listened.
I believed, even if in doubt.
They were lovely and promising.
But then turned to rust.
They fell to pieces.
The words are empty.
They used to sparkle.
I used to sway to the melody.
But now the words empty.
Now they fall away from me.
They still whisper in the distance.
But the words are empty now.
I smile and listen.
Maybe I even sway.
But I know the words are fool’s gold.
And I am fool to hear them.
The words are empty now.

Leave a Reply

