Poem: Drowning Sorrow

More of my tortured soul poetry from my younger days.

Have you ever killed yourself, by hurting someone else?
What about the pain of not being able to say the words?
That feeling of your weight pulling you to the floor?
Did anyone, who just couldn’t see, ever stomp on your already beaten heart?
It feels so smothering as you stare in shock, your jaw to the floor.
The noise around me got so quiet, I couldn’t make out the rest of his words as he slained me.
I felt burned as the heat of anger built inside.
I couldn’t breath, I was drowning in sorrow.
The next thing I knew, my eyes were drowning in tears and I was out that door.
How do I explain this hurt, this pain, this shock?
The best I can… drowning sorrow.

Leave a Reply

