Red Lobster (All The Noms)

My sister sent us a Red Lobster gift card for Christmas, so we decided to go for lunch this afternoon to the one on NW Express Way. It was a very nice lunch date. The place was clean, romantic low lighting (all be it well lit over the tables), and while the restaurant does have a seafood aroma to it, it didn’t wreak of fish. The service was very polite too.

Our server, Maddi, was very friendly. We had a brief conversation with her. She was also very patient, as it took me a while to finally decide on what I wanted to try. She wasn’t overly harassing like some waitstaff tend to be at fancier restaurants. We also never had to ask for a refill because she made sure we had a fresh coke on the table before we were done. We complimented her to the manager, who was obviously high (yes, we know what pot smells like). He was polite and laid back.

20150111_160510

We ordered the Lobster Crab and Seafood Stuffed Mushrooms ($8.79). It’s a great appetizer if you eat it right! At first, I thought it was not all that flavorful and lacked some seasoning. Then we realized that if you douse a spoonful of the sauce on it, it’s very tasty! My husband thought the monterey jack cheese was alright but that they could have chosen a more flavorful cheese. It was messy to get them onto our plates, but we managed to keep things relatively clean. When I used the spoon, it was easier and I got the sauce and all the tastiness better than with a fork. As an appetizer, they only brought out one spoon, so I recommend asking for extra spoons if you are sharing with someone. Also, it gets cold very quickly, so don’t wait to chow down!

20150111_162208

20150111_162609

20150111_162918

The salad was presented well. It looked like they put some thought in to how to arrange the salad to make it look nice. I was disappointed that they didn’t have any Italian dressing. The salad was good, fresh, and crisp. I liked it. However, we had so much food that we opted not to eat the salad beyond an obligatory taste test. We wanted plenty of room for the main dish!

20150111_162933

The cheddar biscuits were as yummy as we expected them to be. My husband would come to Red Lobster just for the biscuits. He’s obsessed! We bought a box of Red Lobster’s cheddar biscuit mix to try at home (you can get it at Walmart). They are very soft and moist to eat. I can’t lie… they are pretty good.

20150111_161739

My husband got the Seaside Shrimp Trio ($18.49) “A generous sampling of Walt’s Favorite Shrimp, garlic shrimp scampi and creamy shrimp linguini Alfredo.” More than a decade ago, my mother took us to Red Lobster and we had Shrimp Scampi for the first time. We loved it so much that my husband was inspired to learn how to make it! Back in those days, we didn’t have that great of a life and this was one of the better memories – my husband experimenting in the kitchen and the excitement of getting it right. It was just as good today, as we remembered our first time having it in Michigan with mom.

The batter on the butterfly shrimp was good. It was just crispy enough without being too crunchy or hard. It wasn’t over battered, nor over fried. It was fantastic! The alfredo was also extremely good (way better than the Olive Garden disaster)! It had a powerful parmesan flavor. There were these rectangles of fresh parmesan cheese that enhanced the flavor of the dish. It was also creamy (not at all lumpy). My husband was very satisfied with his choice (and I got to pick off his plate too!)

20150111_163652

20150111_165440

I decided on the Salmon New Orleans ($16.99) “Fresh Atlantic Salmon, blackened and topped with shrimp in a spicy Tabasco beurre blanc. Garnished with pico de gallo. Served with broccoli and choice of side.” However, I asked for no pico, because I’m just not a fan of that. The dish was delicious without it. The salmon was cooked very well, it wasn’t overcooked nor undercooked. It had that cajun blackened flavor, but wasn’t as strong as most places would have made it. We’ve had a lot of cajun food (I’m originally from Louisiana). This isn’t a detractor, because it the sauce complimented the flavors very well. The shrimp was cooked nicely, which I’m thankful for (when it’s not done right, it’s rubbery and awful).

20150111_163711

20150111_164132

We both had the Creamy Lobster Mashed Potatoes ($3.99 additional) as our side. I really liked this! My first bite was the potatoes without all the extra stuff and it was flavorful on its own. My second bite had the sauce and seafood on it and it was an explosion of flavor! Most places make bland potatoes under the extra stuff, which isn’t as nice. Good job on the mash!!

20150111_163705

I really liked that everything was well presented on the plate. Although, the plates are a bit big and it makes it look like there isn’t much food, but I assure you there is a lot of food! There was so much food that we were full leaving the restaurant and still had enough left overs for a complete meal for dinner!

20150111_170133

 

 

Leave a Reply

