Joe’s Crab Shack (All The Noms)

20140923_191508

Joe’s Crab Shack is one of my favorites! First, let’s have a little fall fun. The birds out here in OKC have huge flocks this time of the year. You can hear them chattering in the bushes. It’s quite entertaining and I love all the birds!

On my way up to the door, I see a GIANT SHARK hanging from the top of the patio!! Bonus points for the fun decor! There was even this lovely wooden pelican post inside. The bathroom tiles were aquatically fun too!

20140923_191528

20140923_191603

IMG_20140923_194148667

IMG_20140923_194153898

IMG_20140923_194204070

Since it was nice outside, we decided to sit outside on the patio. Best decision ever! There were cute little turtles and then there were HUGE turtles! The catfish were giant, but I couldn’t get a good photo or video of them, due to murky water. I think we spent a good 20 minutes just awing at the turtles! If you want the experience that I had, go to the one on NW Expressway. The other locations don’t have the water front.

20140923_193002

20140923_193026

20140923_192056

So let’s talk about the food. This is one of only a few places that do the seafood boils. They have a nice variety of boils that was hard to choose from! I ended up trying The KJ Steampot and my husband got The Orleans.

20140923_192725

They do $2 crawfish on Tuesday, so we got the fried crawfish appetizer. It was a lot smaller than I expected, but it was tasty. I would say that this was the only disappointing part of the evening, which wasn’t really a big deal anyway.

20140923_193121

I’m not sure how long the service was, because I was occupied by the turtles. I don’t think it was too long (best guess). They brought the food out in these nice little pots, and the seafood was all contained in nets. While it was still messy to eat, it was a lot less messy to eat them most seafood places.

20140923_194013

To my amusement, the scallops were in half shells, which was pretty, and you can keep the shells if you want to! The presentation was great all around, if you ask me.

20140923_194225

Now, I’m not a fan of beer, so I didn’t really like the KJ sauce. However, it wasn’t a deal breaker. It wasn’t so strong that I couldn’t enjoy my food. The taste of the seafood was great! Nothing was overcooked. The corn was crunchy but not too crunchy. The potatoes needed some salt, but that’s okay!

My husbands food was just as yummy! He loves crawfish and he was not disappointed. A lot of places tend to over cook crawfish which makes it very mushy and unappetizing. This crawfish was great! I even tried a piece of his andouille (ahn-dwee) sausage which was better than what I’ve had at other places. He was so stuffed, he didn’t want desert.

20140923_194009

…. but we had some anyway! The Campfire S’mores looked too inticing. We rarely ever get dessert and tonight was a treat. It was sooooo good! They were roasted gooey marshmallows, crunchy graham crackers, chocolate Hersey’s bar – all staples of an actual s’more – plus thick chocolate cake and chocolate drizzle. While I don’t particularly care for too-sweet desserts, I have to say this was well worth it. We couldn’t finish it, but man did we try!

20140923_202114

While I do love this place, it still doesn’t top Pearl’s Crabtown. When Pearl’s does a boil, it has that spicy cajun taste that I remember fondly. Joe’s food was great, but didn’t have that cajun spice to it. Also, even though it’s very messy, I love that Pearl’s dumps the boil on to the table the way we do it back home! If you haven’t guessed by now, I’m originally from Louisiana. The food at Pearl’s reminds me of home, has a better authentic experience, and more flavor. Make some room for Joe’s too, because Pearl’s doesn’t have GIANT TURTLES nor the unique selection of boils that Joe’s has. They both have their advantages.

Leave a Reply

