Hollie’s Flatiron Steakhouse (All The Noms)

20140912_194540

The first thing we noticed was how dark the restaurant was. It was very dark! It made it hard to see when walking to your table. The manager said it was part of the ambiance. I think it’s too dark and they could up the lights a little bit without loosing the dim lit ambiance. Luckily the light right above the table was bright enough that we could eat.

They said it would be a 30 to 45 minute wait, but it was really only about 10 minutes! The music in the place was a bit too loud, but the overall experience wasn’t too bad. It was clean and comfy seating. Our waitress was spot on! She attentive but not too overly attentive. She catered to all of our many requests promptly. She had a great attitude and deserved a good tip!

20140912_200359

We ordered the southwest onion strings ($7) for an appetizer, which was very tasty. There were some jalapeno strings too. It was a little spicy but not too much. The chipotle ranch dipping sauce was great. However, it was messy and very hard to get onto plates without making a mess. Also, a friend joined us for tonight’s New Food Friday, and we couldn’t finish the plate with the three of us. It was really too much. I’d say this appetizer is more for a group of five or six people.

20140912_201515

My husband got a chipotle caesar salad which we all tried it and just didn’t like it. Don’t get me wrong, the ingredients appeared to be quality. The lettuce was crunchy and fresh, the parmesan was fresh. However, the tang of the parmesan didn’t go well with the chipotle sauce.

20140912_203152

He also got a rib-eye steak ($21), which was cooked nicely and well seasoned. I stole a piece for myself and it was both a little spicy and salty. I liked it, it was pretty good. Not as good as Texas Roadhouse, but better than most other places that serve steak. The southwestern chile mac-n-cheese side was so-so. He wasn’t a fan of the bow tie pasta, but more so wished the cheese sauce was thicker. I stole a bite, because that’s what wives do! It was thin and runny. I, also, thought it was bland. He says the bread crumbs on top add flavor, but I had the crumbs on my bite and it was still a bit bland. It was a great idea, but poorly implemented.

20140912_203220

 

I got the ribs and roasted yard bird (rotisserie chicken) ($21). The baked potato was fine. It’s a typical tator, nothing to rave about. The chicken was as I like it, tender and tasty. The skin was salty and I’m pretty sure they used your standard chicken seasoning. I can’t complain! The ribs were so tender they fell off the bones, and while it was very tasty, it was a lot more spicy than I expected. In fact, we all agreed that most of the food we had was spicier than expected. Some of it was needlessly spicy. Maybe it’s the southwestern theme? I wasn’t a huge fan of the ribs because of the spiciness. I know it’s southwestern, but to be honest, they should be specifying spicy items on their menu.

What surprised me was the cornbread. I don’t like cornbread, but I tried theirs and loved it. I put some butter on it and eat the whole thing. It was soft and yummy in the middle and a little crunchy on the outside. It a mild jalapeno flavor (tiny bits in the bread). Bravo on the cornbread! It’s extremely rare that I like a cornbread.

20140912_203201

Our buddy also had the Yard Bird ($15) and he had mostly the same opinion of it as I did, except he thought it was too salty. I happen to love salt, so I can see his point of view. It was definitely salty. He said it was well cooked and tender. He also liked the fries. He tossed me a fry and I wasn’t as impressed with the fries. They weren’t bad, but they weren’t seasoned at all. It was just a plain fry. If you throw some salt on them and dip them in ketchup, I’m sure they’re just as good as any plain fry. He also liked the cornbread!

This restaurant is owned by the same people as Redrock Canyon. Considering the price is about the same as Redrock, I recommend Redrock! The atmosphere and location was better, and the food was better. If you had to pick one, go to Redrock Canyon instead.

Leave a Reply

