Chapstick Addiction (Part 7)

It has been seven months without chapstick. I do occasionally get chapped lips, but it’s usually when I don’t drink enough water. I realize that I’ve not been drinking enough water for a long time. I usually go all day without drinking anything, until it’s time to eat. However, you shouldn’t drink only three times a day! When I drink regularly, my lips are fine and my menstrual cycle is healthier too! It makes sense, since you need water to bleed for a week lol.

You might be curious as to why I drink so little. When I was young, I was very sick. Due to my illness, I had to use the bathroom a lot. The more sick I got, the more I went. At one point, towards the height of my illness, I was in the bathroom every five to ten minutes, either urinating or puking. Even on my good days, I had to pee every 30 minutes to an hour. The more I drank, the more I had to go. Even after my surgeries and my recovery, I got used to not drinking very much. I used to keep a water bottle by my bed, so that if I woke up thirsty, I could take a drink.

Today, my lips are chapped and I woke up in the night parched! My mouth was so dry and I felt incredibly thirsty. I still have a water bottle by my bed. I don’t need it that often anymore. It’s been years since I’ve regained my health, and now I only go to the bathroom every 2 hours at minimum. You would think that I’d drink water regularly, but after years of not drinking enough, I guess it feels like an inconvenience to have to fetch a drink (plus I tend to just forget).

When trying to quit chapstick, I made it a point to drink a lot of water to try to rehydrate my lips. Drinking so much water felt good! Now I make it a point to have water nearby all day. I have a tendency to drink it regularly when it’s in reach. I also drink almost exclusively water while at work.

Even when I’m drinking regularly, sometimes I crave chapstick. I can use coconut oil to alleviate it. The oil soaks up super fast and it wears off just as fast. I don’t carry it around with me, it stays in the kitchen. I was scared at first, that I might end up addicted to the oil, but I’ve been very careful. Luckily, I’m not addicted to it coconut oil and I’m still free from the shackles of chapstick!

One thought on “Chapstick Addiction (Part 7)

  1. Pingback: Chapstick Addiction (Part 8) | Corasteel

Leave a Reply

