Let’s Talk About Christmas

I think the “war on Christmas” is ridiculous. I’m on both sides of the fence. First of all, I support separating Church and State. However, if you are going to celebrate Christmas, it’s utterly ridiculous to pretend it’s not Christmas. It’s not a Holiday Tree or Winter Tree, it’s a Christmas Tree… go ahead, it’s okay to say it. On the other hand, I think it’s equally ridiculous to get upset over people saying Happy Holidays and the abbreviated Xmas. Breaking news.. it IS the Holidays, it’s not just Christmas.

Personally, I tend to return the tidings I get. In another words, if someone says “Merry Christmas”, I say “Merry Christmas”. If someone says “Blessed Yule”, then I say “Blessed Yule”. The same goes for “Happy Holidays”, “Happy Solstice”, “Happy Hanukkah”, etc. I’m not Christian but I absolutely love the Holidays and I will say Merry Christmas, because it’s Christmas. I’ve also said Happy Holidays when I feel like it. I never fear offending anyone by spreading tidings that way I want to do it. If someone gets offended, it’s because of their own prejudices and intolerance… not my problem.

A lot of non-Christians will call Christmas something else because they want to celebrate Christmas without being Christian. The thing is, you can celebrate Christmas and not be a Christian. Besides, shouldn’t all Christians want everyone to be a part of Christmas? For me, a non-Christian, Christmas is a holiday for spreading cheer and love. I love Santa and his elves and Christmas Trees… and a vast majority of that is taken from Pagan Holidays and other faiths! I’m not Pagan either, but I still love it. I don’t believe you have to be Christian or Pagan to love Christmas and spread joy. Christmas primarily happens at home, so focus on your own Christmas and stop worrying about how others celebrate the Holidays. Spread cheer… not spread angst at every tiding that isn’t specifically Christian.

I get it, you don’t like people reaping the joys of your religion without actually having faith. At the same time, if you are going to go door to door trying to sell Christ to the non-Christians, maybe you should be more accepting of the success of Christmas. People love Christmas. Shouldn’t you be proud of that? It’s more than a foot in the door… it’s decorated all over the house, inside the house, in the work place. A reindeer has thrown up all over my non-Christian home. Realistically, Christmas is a combination of faiths and maybe that’s why it’s so successful as a Holiday (because it’s inclusive and happy).

I have both Christian friends and family, Wiccan/Pagan friends and family, and even some Hindi, Jewish, Atheist and Agnostic friends. Yes, I even had gay friends and they can be filled with Christmas cheer too! We all get along and welcome (or tolerate for some) tidings of all kinds. If we can do it, so can you! Let go of your prejudices and your “war on Christmas”, because it’s shameful. Focus your time on spreading the Christmas joy! Spread good Holiday tidings, no matter what religion you are… or aren’t.

Merry Christmas, Blessed Yule, Happy Festivus, and have a Happy Holiday!

Leave a Reply

